John Simpson
07 Jun 2011



John Simpson




Nuclear Physics Group
STFC Daresbury Laboratory
Sci-Tech Daresbury
Tel: +44 (0)1925 603 431
Mob: +44(0)7879 486246
Fax: +44 (0)1925 603 173

Research interests

John Simpson is a world-leading γ-ray spectroscopist with expertise in advanced Ge array design. He was the physicist responsible for the design of many European gamma-ray arrays.

He was the project leader for the EXOGAM project, the project manager for AGATA and is now the Spokesperson of AGATA and Chair of the AGATA collaboration.

He holds the position of Visiting Professor at The University of Liverpool. He has 286 refereed papers (h-index 41), including review articles and has given more than 25 invited talks at International Conferences and Workshops in the last 10 years.

He has served on Programme Allocation Panels at IReS, France, NAC/iThemba in South Africa and the University of Jyväskylä, Finland. He was the chairperson of the PAC in Jyväskylä for 2 years.

He has made several leading contributions to high-spin physics, including shape changes, multiple band terminations, pairing correlations, unpaired rotational bands and to the spectroscopy of extremely neutron-deficient nuclei.

He leads research programmes in high spin spectroscopy and heavy exotic nuclei.